Learning from nature

Together yet so far

Purity of nature

While visiting my grandparents in village, I saw these two birds sitting on the wall. I had the camera in my hands so I clicked immediately. Looking at these birds made me wonder, humans & birds, no matter how different physically do share one common aspect in their ‘socioeconomic life’ – both have to earn their livelihood. It has been so since the stone age & will continue to be so till the very end of time. However, the way to do so has evolved for us over time but not for the birds. We started off like them, wearing the suit of nature, hunting for food with our clubs & stones in the early ages, but now our means to acquire food are more indirect, now we work for paychecks, our weapons have evolved, now we use computers, pens, books, musical instruments, cameras, screwdrivers, brooms, and we wear suits & ties, shiny shoes, trendy hats, makeover, and cool shades. So many of us aspire to reach the top of corporate world. To have all that money, the glamour, the fast cars, the huge houses. But what are we willing to sacrifice in doing so? Will we do it even if we have to sell our peace of mind, our conscience, our integrity, honesty?

On the other hand, have a look at these two birds. They are together because they have to work, may be they don’t like each other that’s why they are sitting together but looking in different directions, having different thoughts. But their souls are pure, they don’t have to lie, cheat or pretend.

If given a chance, would you want to be like these birds? Simple, straight forward, nothing artificial about you, not having to hide how you feel about someone. Or better yet, would you want to trade places with these birds? Why? Because they live a simpler life. The are unaware of the concepts so frequently used by the human society today, lying, cheating, backstabbing, dirty politics.

THINK! Let’s learn from nature, we can’t stop working but let’s try to be pure, if we have something in our heart let’s say it out loud and clarify and solve our problems to live peacefully, with purity, let’s live the way of nature!

By: Rashid Ali

20 thoughts on “Learning from nature

  1. Lovely picture and it’s bizarre because I was just thinking about being a bird a while ago and I totally agree, they just live for the moment, they don’t overthink. But on the other hand, I think that if we were birds, we would behave similarly. I love the quote ‘I always wonder why birds choose to stay in the same place when they can fly anywhere on the earth, then I ask myself the same question’. πŸ˜‰

  2. I couldn’t agree more with your blog. We need to start loving and appreciating others more. My yard is full of birds right now. They are sharing the feeders, ignoring each other for the most part. No violence. No hatred. No bickering. A great lesson is unfolding in my backyard right before my eyes. Thanks for reading my blog. Connie

  3. While I appreciate the sentiment (and it is a noble sentiment), this sentimentality fails to note that computers, etc., etc. are perfectly natural (i.e. within the realm of nature). Likewise, human behaviour is as natural now as it was before. Even waging war against nature is natural. You sound a bit like Baden-Powell: you point in the right direction – contentment, but you point at the wrong target. If you wish for contentment, it is enough to reject all money but that necessary to have a place to sleep and that necessary to purchase food. But this contentment, the elimination of desires, will not be natural. You glorify the purity and peacefulness of birds, yet birds know, too, what greed is. They know what betrayal is. You have glorified a photograph, but that photograph is only capable of presenting your emotions, not theirs.

  4. When WordPress sent me an e-mail this morning letting me know that you had “liked” one of my posts, I clicked on the link to this post. And I’m so glad I did. I love the photo of the birds and greatly appreciate what you wrote. I agree with you about the importance of nature, your call for peace, and this: “if we have something in our heart let’s say it out loud.” I was thinking how this applies to all of us who blog — whether it’s somebody who is relatively new at this, like me or very experienced bloggers. We all have things in our hearts that we are saying out loud! Thanks again, Ann

  5. Well, I see we share a first name and a love of animals. Very insightful post. My last two none photo posts reflected similarly on the nature of canine emotions and how they have evolved with ours. You may find it interesting!

  6. I love this kind of all encompassing introspection — or should that be “outrospection” if that is even a word?! — It is the very fact that we, people, all of us / any of us can have these lightning bolt moments and thoughtful insights, that we can sometimes see or state this sort of crystallizing clarity, that lifts us from simply being an all consuming disease that has / is destroying this planet. The moments when we can see the world for what it really is and see just how shallow and superficial our day to day lives and our societies are. Would I be a bird? (or any other living thing besides a human for that matter) — In a heart beat! What would be more interesting is if we could ask the birds the same question, would they choose to be a human?

  7. just wanted to thank you for following my blog, and a special thanks for bringing me here to yours. I look forward to exploring further for sure.. Hopefully you will also continue to explore my previous posts and find something of interest, joy, inspiration or thought provoking. .
    with love light and JOY πŸ™‚

  8. I don’t know why I can’t see the photo of the birds, but I liked your words. By the way, thanks for following my photo blog “Exploring the world: Photography, travel, art”, since March. I hope you’re enjoying my posts.
    Kind greetings,
    Marianne

Leave a Reply

